This page provides clickable links to information concerning boating rules and regulations in the state of Georgia.
General Boating Information
All boating laws are under O.C.G.A. Title 52, Chapter 7.
- Click here to access Boating State Laws
- Click here to access Boating Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia.
Marine Event Permit
Applications for marine events must be received by the Boating Law Administrator at least 30 days prior to the event.
Marine events with more than 10,000 participants and spectators must be received at least 90 days prior to the event.
The Event Coordinator must apply for the Marine Event Permit and submit to the Georgia DNR Region Law Enforcement Office in their area.
The forms provided in this package should be helpful in making such requests as prescribed by law, however, each case is unique and these forms might not be sufficient for your particular situation. It is absolutely necessary that the lien claimant obtain sufficient responses from the state agencies as prescribed by law prior to filing a petition to foreclose.
The person removing or storing an abandoned vessel, who does not provide the notice and information required by law, shall not be entitled to any storage fees. In addition, any person who knowingly provides false or misleading information as required by law, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
Coastal Long-Term & Short-Term Anchoring
Georgia is home to more than 105 miles of coastal shoreline with outstanding opportunities for boating. In order to keep our coast healthy and vibrant, the Georgia Department of Natural Resources has established regulations for overnight and long-term anchoring.
Wakeboarding and Wakesurfing Law
In 2023, the Georgia General Assembly passed House Bill 121, bringing about changes in the regulations governing wakeboarding and wakesurfing activities on state waters.