Starting May 1, New Operating Hours for 7 GA Shooting Ranges

Social Circle, GA
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 13:45



Beginning May 1, 2017, visitors to seven of Georgia’s 17 public shooting ranges will need to note new operating hours. 

All of the ranges scheduled for changes to operating hours are currently staffed by range safety officers. Ranges include:

  • Wilson Shoals (Banks County, Wilson Shoals Wildlife Management Area)

  • Richmond Hill (Bryan County, Richmond Hill Wildlife Management Area)

  • Mike Commander (Dougherty County, Chickasawhatchee Wildlife Management Area)

  • Clybel (Jasper County, Clybel Wildlife Management Area)

  • Ocmulgee (Pulaski County, Ocmulgee Wildlife Management Area)

  • West Point (Troup County, West Point Wildlife Management Area)

  • Dixon Memorial (Ware County, Dixon Memorial Wildlife Management Area)

Operating hours will alter based on the time of year, and day of the week:

  • Mar. 15 – Oct. 31: Tuesday-Saturday (9 am – 7 pm), Sunday (1 pm – 7 pm)

  • Nov. 1 – Mar. 14: Tuesday – Saturday (9 am – 6 pm*), Sunday (1 pm – 6 pm*) *(Ranges close at sunset or 6 pm, whichever is earliest)

  • Closed on Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas

Georgia’s 17 public shooting ranges offer a variety of range lengths, from 25 yards to 100 yards, with some ranges designated for rifles or handguns. A shotgun range with skeet, trap and 5-stand opportunities is available at Clybel WMA in Jasper County.

Range visitors (ages 16-64) should note that many ranges require a license, wildlife management area license, or Georgia Outdoor Recreational Pass (GORP).