Georgia Wildlife Resources Division
2070 U.S. Hwy. 278, SE, Social Circle, GA 30025
When preparing to go out on a boat or a PWC, the operator must check that the legally required equipment is onboard.
All boats must have at least one Type I, II, III or V personal flotation device that is U. S. Coast Guard approved, wearable and of the proper size for each person onboard. Sizing for PFDs is based on body weight and chest size. Type V PFDs are acceptable only when worn and securely fastened.
As of May 15, 2013, Georgia law requires all children under 13 years of age to wear a U. S. Coast Guard approved PFD while onboard any moving boat (VIDEO) . This law does not apply when the child is in a fully enclosed cabin.
One Type IV (throwable device) U. S. Coast Guard approved PFD must be onboard all boats 16 feet or more in length, except for canoes and kayaks. Must be immediately accessible to throw out to someone quickly.
One Type V may be substituted for any other type if it is specifically approved by the U. S. Coast Guard for the activity at hand. Type V PFDs may not be substituted on children weighing less than 90 lbs.
Each person riding on a PWC must wear a U. S. Coast Guard approved Type I, II, III or V personal flotation device. Inflatable Type V PFDs are not approved for use on PWC.
All PFDs must be in good and serviceable condition and must be readily accessible.
TYPE I: Offshore Life Jacket
TYPE II: Near-Shore Vest
TYPE III: Flotation Aid
TYPE IV: Throwable Device
TYPE V: Special-Use Device