Do you need hunter education before you head to the woods? You have options! Hunters in need of the Georgia hunter education course can choose to go completely online or attend a classroom course, according to the Georgia Department of Natural Resources’ Wildlife Resources Division.
“Giving hunter education students the opportunity to take the course fully online provides them with the chance to complete the course based on their own time constraints,” says Jennifer Pittman, statewide hunter education administrator with the Wildlife Resources Division. “In 2016, over 13,000 people chose this option, which is almost equal to the full number of people who completed the course – online or in classroom – from previous years, so we hope this provides a positive way to reach out to those where time and location was a factor.”
The four available online courses each require a fee (from $9.95 - $24.95) but all are “pass or don’t pay” courses. Fees for these courses are charged by and collected by the independent course developer. If the online course vendor fees are an obstacle, students can obtain a free CD-ROM by contacting their local DNR law enforcement office or the Hunter Development Office (770-761-3010). The classroom course is free of charge.
Completion of a hunter education course is required for any person born on or after January 1, 1961, who:
- purchases a season hunting license in Georgia.
- is at least 12 years old and hunts without adult supervision.
- hunts big game (deer, turkey, bear) on a wildlife management area.
The only exceptions include any person who:
- purchases a short-term hunting license, such as the Apprentice License or the 3-day Hunting and Fishing Combo License (as opposed to a season license).
- is hunting on his or her own land, or that of his or her parents or legal guardians.
For more information, go to www.gohuntgeorgia.com/education/#hunter-education or call 770-761-3010.